17
Jul
12

DRK Industry Tracker. It tracks Industry.

or, how envious I am about Aideron Robotics

So, I read Seismic Stan’s account of his time in Aideron Robotics, whereupon I became insanely envious of its internal industry app, having already been envious of Blake’s version.

I know some industrialists like spreadsheets, but I prefer something a bit more automated. Heck, some people don’t like the fact that manufacturing and research are largely hands-off activities, but frankly I don’t have the time to babysit reaction chains and other time-consuming tasks.

However, I have recently encountered a web site that does pretty-much everything I want from an industrial planning perspective. It’s called DRK Industry Tracker and it’s exceptionally cool.

Some cool features are:

  • Turning loot logs of a mining operation into mineral reports
  • Making quotes or projects spanning multiple blueprints and runs, and linking them to specific buy orders you’ve made so it knows the exact cost price and resource availability for your job
  • Being able to assign jobs to other people
  • Much more

The site is run by Raath Nambode, who I talked to about the site.

DRK the corporation did implode but the domain and website are safe for a long time to come.  I have had thoughts about rebranding it but tbh the domain is paid for and I run it as s free service so am letting it just sit where it is.

I always have done, still do and will continue for years to come  maintain the site personally.  While I was sad to see my old corp go, I’d put too much work and love into the site to just let it sit there doing nothing.  I’m working on a bunch of features atm which I’ll be adding on over the next few weeks and one of my fav things in the world is honest feedback on features and bug reports.

So if you see things that you think could be done better or bugs that get on your nerves, let me know through [evemail].

This is a really good tool for budding industrialists and established corporations alike. Check it out.

2 Responses to “DRK Industry Tracker. It tracks Industry.”


  1. 1 Blake
    July 18, 2012 at 12:45 am

    You picked a funny week to post this as Raath is on a 5 day family holiday. He is going to come back on Monday to a blog/reddit explosion!

    Here are some better (older) shots of the wallet manager: http://k162space.com/2011/01/21/custom-wallet-manager/

  2. July 18, 2012 at 7:21 am

    Thanks for the ping back! The point I was trying to make with my linkage idea was to provide a more entertaining in-game set of activities for industrialists. As the interface stands today, to run a big operation you have to have a hybrid set of tools that often take you out of game. If you’re not in game, or have your nose in a spreadsheet (guilty on both counts), you can’t undock, etc. Don’t get me wrong – I think the third-party tools are amazing, and they definitely have a place in the industrial firmament. My idea was to offer a game play element that, well, puts a little fun and a little risk into developing big supply chains. Thanks for your post, you’ve given me more to think about!

    Fly it like you built it,

    Adhar


Leave a Reply

