10
Aug
12

The story behind AFK Complex Farming

CCP Sreegs made a vague and ominous post warning that people were abusing deadspace complexes and that it was now a bannable offense.

Predictably, players overheated their drama engines and a threadnaught developed.

Turns out it was all because of one guy on Failheap:

It’s me

I broke EvE

Here’s the deal:
There’s a COSMOS complex in the Aphi system called “The Labyrinth”. It is a maze of 9 rooms. In each room, there are four gates, and a special battleship and cruiser that spawn over and over relatively rapidly.

You can sit there and manually farm them, but this ISK is pretty bad. Works out to about 5 mil ISK/hour for each room. At first glance, the rooms do not seem AFK farm-able via sentry drones

[snip]

However, if these problems could be solved, I realized that farming the rooms 23/7 with a fleet of AFK dominixes could yield about 24 billion ISK per month, without breaking the EULA. (24 billion AFTER paying to PLEX the necessary accounts).

~5 mil ISK/hour * 9 rooms * 23 hours * 28 days = ~29 bil/month

I decided this was something I wanted to try. I quickly solved the problems I mentioned earlier via trial-and-error.

With these problems solved, I started farming a few rooms with a few accounts. The ISK was great. However, after a few weeks, I got really sick of flying the ships into place every morning (I always get up around the end of downtime), even though I was making bank.

[...] I decided that rather than farm the rooms myself, I would recruit other people to farm and I would be the overlord of the operation. With a combination of suicide ganking and denial tactics, I would push out the competition. I would use these same tactics to keep my farmers from rebelling against me. [...] Each room generated about 3.2 bil/month. I would take a 33% cut.

Within a month, I had either driven off or recruited all the competition into my organization. I had farmers in all 9 rooms farming 23/7. Each one paid me a 33% tax rate. For the next year, I collected about 9.6 bil/month and did virtually nothing other than suicide gank a few people and settle occasional disputes between my farmers. [...]

TL;DR:

I got rich and forced CCP to change their bad game design

So there you have it. The story of one guy, 120 billion isk and the slumlord empire he created.

The full story is on failheap - it’s a great read, just like the guy who wrote about how he broke the Pax Amarria,  the guys who made trillions on the contract sorting bug, and more recently, the faction warfare manipulations.

3 Responses to “The story behind AFK Complex Farming”


  1. August 10, 2012 at 2:00 pm

    Interesting – I had been wondering about that.

  2. 2 Alkindy
    August 10, 2012 at 6:12 pm

    5 mil ISK/hour, 9 slaves, dreadful suicide gank… just “WOW!”

  3. August 12, 2012 at 1:18 am

    Obviously, CCP really needs to step it up and hid some real economists and tacticians. People who can extrapolate what can be done with their poorly thought out changes.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

